Be Grateful

Grandma: Joanne, can you check where your brother is.

Joanne: “Just give me a reason, just a little bit’s enough, I’m not broken just bent, and we can learn to love again.”

Grandma: Joanne, stop singing, it’s already raining hard.

Joanne: Can you just shut up Lola, sing if you want.

Grandma: What did you say?

Joanne: Nothing! You can’t hear me anyway.

Grandma: Go get your brother, he’s playing in the rain, he might get sick.

Joanne: Whatever! Jolou! Come here! Don’t make me slap you.

Jolou: Hi Ate! Rain is cold. Jolou love play in the rain. Come and get me!

Instead of getting inside the house, Jolou ran some more, he enjoys the rain as much as I hate it. What kind of family do I have? A slow moving and deaf grandmother to take care of us, and an autistic for a brother. I’m very fortunate don’t you think? *sigh*

Jolou: Ate! Ate! I’m here. Run ate! *laughing*

Joanne: Now, I’m all wet, I really hate this family. I really hope I just spend my days in the streets, without anyone telling me what to do and what not to do!

Joanne mumbles as she literally stomps out of the house to fetch Jolou. When she saw a little girl helpless on the street.

Little girl: Help! Ate, help us, do you have food?

Joanne: Where are your parents? You street children, you don’t know anything but ask for alms, said the ever arrogant Joanne.

Little girl: I have no mommy and daddy. They left me.

And the girl started crying and running away.

Joanne: Ow, I.. I’m so sorry..

But it was too late, the little girl was already far from her sight. Then a woman appeared.

Crazy Woman: Hahaha, it’s raining! Can’t you see? *crying* My child, where is my child? You! You! You! You killed my son! I will kill all of you! Hahaha. It’s raining… It will drown you.. you! You are my child.. you..

Then she started grabbing Joanne and hugging her.

Joanne: No! I’m not your daughter, get off me. Lola! Jolou! Help me..

Grandma: Joanne! Wake up! Joanne!

Joanne: Lola? I’m so sorry, I know I should have been more grateful of all the blessing God has given me.

Jolou: Ate? Why cry? Jolou is here. Jolou make you happy Ate. Jolou love Ate very much.

Joanne: I love you too Jolou.

Grandma: It’s never too late my child, everyday is an opportunity to be thankful fr the things you have.

Joanne: We often take for granted the very things that most deserve our gratitude. We often compare ourselves to others, and feel bad because we think others have more when we have less. How about you? How often do you pause to appreciate what you have in life? It might be too late.

Leave a Reply

